top of page

NAVIGATING CIVVY STREET

A documentary on life after the military

Screenshot 2018-11-27 at 12.24.25.png
Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureDorothy Wilson

A busy weekend of filming

On Saturday I drove to the Iford Bridge pub in Christchurch to join the Armed Forces Breakfast Club for the morning. Veterans and serving personnel of broad range of ages joined each other over breakfast to make friends and talk about their military experiences. It was lovely to see so many people come together and share common ground with each other. I was also able to speak to Andy Whittingham, who has attended the Breakfast Club for around six months now, to talk about what the Breakfast Club is and why it is run.


I heard about the Breakfast Club through a family friend, Dave Greenwood, and he was also able to give me contact details for a few of his army friends, who he met whilst serving in the Royal Electrical Mechanical Engineers regiment. One of his friends, Neil Holmes agreed to speak to me about his experience leaving the army four years ago and I thought that it would also be beneficial to hear about Dave's experience too.


I arranged to meet Neil and Dave on Sunday (2nd December) so I could hear what it was really like for them leaving the army. I am very pleased with how the interviews went as I learnt a lot, and I hope that my audience will gain more of an insight on to this topic too, from people who have actually been through it themselves.


Now that I have got my main interviews filmed it is time to start editing!


Home: Subscribe
bottom of page