top of page

NAVIGATING CIVVY STREET

A documentary on life after the military

Screenshot 2018-11-27 at 12.24.25.png
Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureDorothy Wilson

Coming up with an idea

Updated: Dec 12, 2018


As soon as I was given the brief for the Major Multimedia Project I was keen to focus my documentary on a subject surrounding missing people or a topic related to true crime. I spend a lot of my free time researching true crime and missing persons cases and feel that I already have a good base knowledge to go forward into researching the topic. Through my own research I have noticed that there is a major lack of representation for missing black people. It is for this reason that I have decided to base my project around missing black children, as children tend to receive more media coverage than adults.


My plan is now to get in contact with missing persons charities and online forums in order to find a case study. I would like to speak with a black family who have had a child or relative go missing so that I can hear about their experience and the kind of media coverage which they received. I would like the documentary to focus on one family in particular so that I am able to give them a platform and an opportunity to share their story which may not have received the appropriate media coverage and attention.



Home: Subscribe
bottom of page