top of page

NAVIGATING CIVVY STREET

A documentary on life after the military

Screenshot 2018-11-27 at 12.24.25.png
Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureDorothy Wilson

The beginning of the military documentary

Updated: Dec 9, 2018

After a few weeks of struggling to get interviews, I am going into this week feeling positive. I have had a response from a charity called HighGround which offers horticultural therapy and land-based employment opportunities to both serving personnel and veterans. I will be meeting with the founder of the charity, Anna Baker Cresswell next week.


I have also been in contact with Marianne Barham who runs care homes for the Royal British Legion. These homes are open to anyone who has the left the military and requires regular care. She has agreed to let me to interview her and also film at the care homes. She has also contacted a number of other people at the Royal British Legion who she feels will be able to help me and I am now waiting to hear responses from them.


I was keen to speak to someone from the charities SSAFA, who provide a range of different support systems for ex-military personnel, and Combat Stress, who provide mental health support but unfortunately their PR teams said that they were not able to help me.


I am still feeling positive, however, as I have managed to secure my first interview.


Home: Subscribe
bottom of page